Why We Need to Refocus and Change Our Strategy, Now

To preserve our liberty and ourselves, now and in the future, we need to remember something…

We need to return to where our Founding Fathers made the decision, as a Colony, as a Continental Congress in 1774, that formed their resolve.

Most were very wealthy, all had families, all had more than an idealism to lose.

But something even greater gave our Founding Fathers focus and determination to do what they did and risk death for themselves as well as for their families just by signing our Declaration of Independence in 1776…

In 1774, our Founding Fathers and the First Continental Congress established their resolve by believing it would be wrong NOT to stand up to their persecution at the hands of Great Britain for ONE reason…

“That it is an indispensable duty which we owe to God, our country, ourselves and posterity, by all lawful ways and means in our power to maintain, defend and preserve these civil and religious rights and liberties for which many of our fathers fought, bled and died, and to hand them down entire to future generations.”*

Today both political parties are focused on the limiting the other political party by almost any means possible with their own ends in mind.

This is a futile effort — and I was just as guilty about it all as everyone else.

Until we resolve to defend and preserve our civil and religious rights as well as our liberties for which ALL generations of our country “fought, bled and died”, before and after 1776, I fully believe we are not going to be able to hand them down entire to future generations as we will have failed.

Our focus needs to be remembering, respecting and honoring those who gave their all so we may have what they could not but desired for us.

Until then, the likes of Obama and all the government ruled “-isms” will be able to agitate, manipulate and castrate our liberty…

“Liberty, once lost, is lost forever” ~ John Adams

We are exceptional as we were the ONLY nation in all of world history to invite God into our government, into our states, into our communities, into our homes, into our schools, into every facet of our lives even before beginning our decisive road to independence

One only has to look at the Bible to know what has happened to other countries that didn’t even do this much, and yet abandoned Him as much our nation has of late…

Our Founding Fathers knew the situation they were in, as did Reverend Duché who was asked to provide prayer as the first act of the First Continental Congress in 1774…

“O Lord our Heavenly Father, high and mighty King of kings, and Lord of lords, who dost from thy throne behold all the dwellers on earth and reignest with power supreme and uncontrolled over all the Kingdoms, Empires and Governments; look down in mercy, we beseech Thee, on these our American States, who have fled to Thee from the rod of the oppressor and thrown themselves on Thy gracious protection, desiring to be henceforth dependent only on Thee. To Thee have they appealed for the righteousness of their cause; to Thee do they now look up for that countenance and support, which Thou alone canst give. Take them, therefore, Heavenly Father, under Thy nurturing care; give them wisdom in Council and valor in the field; defeat the malicious designs of our cruel adversaries; convince them of the unrighteousness of their Cause and if they persist in their sanguinary purposes, of own unerring justice, sounding in their hearts, constrain them to drop the weapons of war from their unnerved hands in the day of battle!

“Be Thou present, O God of wisdom, and direct the councils of this honorable assembly; enable them to settle things on the best and surest foundation. That the scene of blood may be speedily closed; that order, harmony and peace may be effectually restored, and truth and justice, religion and piety, prevail and flourish amongst the people. Preserve the health of their bodies and vigor of their minds; shower down on them and the millions they here represent, such temporal blessings as Thou seest expedient for them in this world and crown them with everlasting glory in the world to come. All this we ask in the name and through the merits of Jesus Christ, Thy Son and our Savior.

Amen.”

Reverend Jacob Duché
Rector of Christ Church of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
September 7, 1774, 9 o’clock a.m.

Psalm 35

Reverend Duché followed the above prayer by reading this Psalm (King James Version)…

1 Plead my cause, O Lord, with them that strive with me: fight against them that fight against me.2 Take hold of shield and buckler, and stand up for mine help.

3 Draw out also the spear, and stop the way against them that persecute me: say unto my soul, I am thy salvation.

4 Let them be confounded and put to shame that seek after my soul: let them be turned back and brought to confusion that devise my hurt.

5 Let them be as chaff before the wind: and let the angel of the Lord chase them.

6 Let their way be dark and slippery: and let the angel of the Lord persecute them.

7 For without cause have they hid for me their net in a pit, which without cause they have digged for my soul.

8 Let destruction come upon him at unawares; and let his net that he hath hid catch himself: into that very destruction let him fall.

9 And my soul shall be joyful in the Lord: it shall rejoice in his salvation.

10 All my bones shall say, Lord, who is like unto thee, which deliverest the poor from him that is too strong for him, yea, the poor and the needy from him that spoileth him?

11 False witnesses did rise up; they laid to my charge things that I knew not.

12 They rewarded me evil for good to the spoiling of my soul.

13 But as for me, when they were sick, my clothing was sackcloth: I humbled my soul with fasting; and my prayer returned into mine own bosom.

14 I behaved myself as though he had been my friend or brother: I bowed down heavily, as one that mourneth for his mother.

15 But in mine adversity they rejoiced, and gathered themselves together: yea, the abjects gathered themselves together against me, and I knew it not; they did tear me, and ceased not:

16 With hypocritical mockers in feasts, they gnashed upon me with their teeth.

17 Lord, how long wilt thou look on? rescue my soul from their destructions, my darling from the lions.

18 I will give thee thanks in the great congregation: I will praise thee among much people.

19 Let not them that are mine enemies wrongfully rejoice over me: neither let them wink with the eye that hate me without a cause.

20 For they speak not peace: but they devise deceitful matters against them that are quiet in the land.

21 Yea, they opened their mouth wide against me, and said, Aha, aha, our eye hath seen it.

22 This thou hast seen, O Lord: keep not silence: O Lord, be not far from me.

23 Stir up thyself, and awake to my judgment, even unto my cause, my God and my Lord.

24 Judge me, O Lord my God, according to thy righteousness; and let them not rejoice over me.

25 Let them not say in their hearts, Ah, so would we have it: let them not say, We have swallowed him up.

26 Let them be ashamed and brought to confusion together that rejoice at mine hurt: let them be clothed with shame and dishonour that magnify themselves against me.

27 Let them shout for joy, and be glad, that favour my righteous cause: yea, let them say continually, Let the Lord be magnified, which hath pleasure in the prosperity of his servant.

28 And my tongue shall speak of thy righteousness and of thy praise all the day long.

Meditate on this for a while then act as you feel as you need to act and do so with resolve.

Please be sure to share this with all you know using this link: http://j.mp/ResolveForLiberty (this will bring them to this post)

 

* Journal of the Proceedings of Congress, 1774 (Philadelphia: Printed for the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1974), September 10, 1774 (30-33)

Please Leave a Reply

