Memorial Day – 2015

Last Letters Home — These letters have not been changed or edited for spelling or punctuation…

With thanks to GP Cox, 11th Airborne

Pacific Paratrooper

Memorial_Day_Art_American_Soldier_Salutes_Half_Mast_US_Flag-01

Last Letters Home

These letters have not been changed or edited for spelling or punctuation.

Civil War – 

Lindsey Buckner Lindsey Buckner

The letter was written by a Kentucky man named Lindsey Buckner, who was selected to be shot in retaliation for the death of a Union soldier killed by Confederate guerrillas in his home state. “My dear sister,” Buckner wrote in late October 1864, “I am under sentence of death and for what, I do not know. … It is a hard thing to be chained and shot in this way; and if it was not for the hope I have of meeting you all in Heaven, I would be miserable indeed.

John Ross Wallar John Ross Wallar

John Ross Wallar, 15 year old drummer boy, while injured wrote: “Dear Sister father Mother and friends I received your letter But I don’t think I Ever shall see another that you write this…

View original post 778 more words

2 thoughts on “Memorial Day – 2015

Please Leave a Reply

